Skip to main content

Pelican Poets and Writers: Winning Words


The Pelican Poets and Writers Society invites members of the Corpus community (and their partners and friends) to its first session of Lent Term on Wednesday February 1st in the Parker Room (B Staircase) at 19.45. Refreshments will be served. 
We will discuss poems of a number of Nobel Prize winning poets spanning a century, including Rabindranath Tagore (Bengal), Tomas Transtromer (Sweden), Derek Walcott (Caribbean), Wislawa Szymborska (Poland), Seamus Heaney (Ireland) and Louise Gluck (US). 

No previous experience with poetry is necessary - just an interest in exploring the poetry in a relaxed and congenial atmosphere, or simply listening to the discussion. The Pelican Poets was founded in 2008 and the group has always been a wonderfully heterogeneous community of students, postgraduates, Fellows and friends, who come together to extend their literary horizons. 

Pelican Poets and Writers poster